Images shows a video upload and auto-generated cover images on the backend of the Facebook Creator Studio

Is Facebook Creator Studio Worth All The Hype?

I have used the Creator Studio a handful of times. I have never really liked it despite all the hype. One of my major pet peeves is that it is terrible when trying to upload video from a DSLR. And we are not even talking about a long video.

This is a video that is less than three minutes long. For me, it takes days to load. That is too many unproductive hours. Below, is a look into my Creator dashboard. I started uploading this video on Sunday, and today, Tuesday the 11/10/22, it is only at 64%. This is way too slow.

Furthermore, the original formatting of my video is lost. You can see the original below. This is whack. I am not sure what other tools or APPS people are using to upload video to Instagram and Facebook, but please let us know in the comments below.

This is one of the major weaknesses of Facebook dealing with video. To be clear, this is not a problem that I find only in the Creator Studio, but it is also when posting video directly to my page as illustrated below. This has been going on for the same period as the upload in the Creator Studio.

I find that posting video is a painful process on Facebook. maybe, it is better when you are posting videos from phones. I think Creator Studio does other things very well, but video is not one of those things. It is ironic considering how both Instagram and Facebook are encouraging more video sharing to their sites, but it is still painful to add video to them.

There is nothing out there that beats Youtube and Vimeo. I want to use the Meta Business Suite but the video uploading challenges make it hard to use. They are great at doing all the other stuff, but platforms like Instagram are highlighting reels and videos more and more yet make it difficult to add videos from DSLR and mirrorless cameras. This is just ridicuous.

The other day, I uploaded a video to both Instagram and facebook, but I cannot locate where it was posted to. This makes it hard to take these platforms seriously, because if you are posting for a client, and cannot show where your posts are, then that is not a good look.

Please share your tips and good points about the Creator Studio and Meta Business Suite. I want to use them more and more, but need more encouragment to.

Leave a comment