Closup image of hanging leaves from a lemo tree drying in the sun. Photo by 4toconvert.

Lingering Beauty

Sometimes, beauty is wherever you look. It is just waiting to be appreciated. And what better way to pay homage to beauty than to capture that moment and make it last an eternity through a photo reminding everyone who sees it of that moment.

In life, we so often take things for granted and never realise that we may never experience that special moment again. It can be taken away in the blink of an eye.

I have chosen to live in way that the artist in me never dies. No matter what my circumstances are, I will see life through the artist in me who may appear impractical at the worst or best of times.

image of drying leaves from a lemon tree hanging in the sun. Photo by 4toconvert.
Image taken at f/4.5 at 1/125 and 18.9 mm at ISO 100.

It is the only way I know how to live and exist. I am not merely here to survive but I want to smell the scent of the roses and the lemons in the air, taste the sweet sounds of music in the ear and hear the effervescent flavours of food dancing on my tongue.

If life is full of disappointments then art is its antidote. Art can address our whole spectrum of feelings. Beauty will always exist whether we are happy or sad, disappointed or elated, etc.

Whatever we feel beauty is always out there. Whether we see it or not, depends on our perspective at that given moment.

Closup image of hanging leaves from a lemo tree drying in the sun. Photo by 4toconvert.
Image taken at f/4.5 at 1/125 and 18.9 mm at ISO 100.

The image above are the hanging and dying leaves of a lemon tree in a pot plant on my balcony. It captures a poignant moment.

This moment is the transition between summer and autumn. The dying leaves signify that aspect of autumn and the light or sun’s rays entering from the left of frame and seen in the white blotches on the leaves are the remnants of the summer sun.

That is the simple story this image evokes. It may not be so clear to others seeing this image but as the photographer, we have the advantage of knowing the full context the image was taken and what it represents to us.

When I saw this image through my eyes on that late afternoon, I knew before I took the image that I was going to capture a moment of lingering beauty. I had already visualised it long before I focussed my lens on and snapped it.

2 thoughts on “Lingering Beauty

Leave a Reply

