Image of a sky that is in deep reds and yellows giving the impression that it is on fire. The foreground and the tress below are in the form of silhouettes.

Is what you write in your head and what you write on paper/ screen the same?

I recently wrote a post a few days ago entitled ‘”Every person makes a contribution to the world” Sanskrit saying’.

I really liked it. In fact, I loved it. It was written in earnest. However, to my dismay, I was notified via the comments that there was a mistake in my post.

At the time, I though I would probably have to make major changes or erase the entire post.

Initially, I wrote, “Every week Karuna has homework to write five to ten sentences in Sanskrit and translate them”.

That is factually incorrect. Karuna responded in the comments and informed me, “It is actually the opposite. Since I don’t have the skill to simply write the sentences, I have to compose them in English and then translate them into Sanskrit!”

He went on to explain:

The sentences are based on attitudes I have learned on my spiritual and life journeys and the style of the sentence is influenced by various religious traditions. They also came to my mind because of current world events. So the sentences aren’t Sanskrit quotes. I just composed them and then translated them into the Sanskrit language!

image of an open piece of land filled with weeds and trees. The whole image is in black and white but there is one bud that is green and yellow. Image credited to the 4toconvert

It seems like somewhere along the line what I was writing in my head and what I was writing on my blog were not the same or maybe I misinterpreted what he said.

From his response, it is clear that the title of my previous article was not a Sanskrit saying which I will have to change to Karuna’s Wisdom.

However, I will leave the rest as it is as I believe that a blog is not merely what the author writes but part of a larger text when we include the comments..

They become interlinked and form an interconnected text which when read in its entirety is self explanatory and resolves itself.

I have found that through the initial error, I have got to know Karuna a lot better through the conversation we had. I can gather that Karuna has gone through some spiritual and life journey plus he is a keen observer of world events and reflects upon them.

I guess misunderstandings not only open up opportunities to learn but also to develop dialogue, learn about others and connect with other bloggers.

Karuna went on to say something profound, “So often sentences can be read in different ways”. And a light bulb went off in my head.

Is what you write in your head and what you write on paper the same? I thought.

No! is the answer. What I write in my head is always perfect. However, it never translates to paper or the computer’s screen.

Image of spider web drenched with water. The drops of water look like diamonds. The web is overlooking a canal and some green vegetation leading down the slope to the canal's bank. Image credited to the 4toconvert.

It seems like something is lost in the transmission of the signals from the brain to the computer. Sometimes, I can’t keep up with the thoughts or words in my head and write at the same rate they are popping in my head.

So inevitably, I lose some of the original thoughts and work with what I remember of the idea. I have not yet found the perfect way to capture my thoughts in their initial form.

Maybe a world where we communicate through pictures would be cool. I just imagine a world where we could communicate using photographs only.

However, interpretation will always ensure that ten people can see the same picture and each person will interpret it differently.

Therefore, communication between yourself or people is imperfect. And we can never ensure that what we write will always be understood as per our original intention by anyone reading it.

We can always clarify ourselves and correct any misunderstandings and I believe that provides the perfect opportunity to learn from our errors and grow from it.

However, what we write in our heads and what we write on paper might never be the same, but preserving the seed, the kernel of the idea, is important.

I believe the best writing comes out of rewriting and it is here that we can perfect what we fail to capture on screen the first time round.

Can you answer yes to the question: Is what you write in your head and what you write on paper/ screen the same?

2 thoughts on “Is what you write in your head and what you write on paper/ screen the same?

  1. Definitely not. Generally by the time I find a paper and start jotting down the story in my head, I find that I’ve skipped over some of the original connecting dots. But if I keep tweaking, i realize that the finished product often takes me somewhere better. Is it the same with you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @paradoxicalsprite I think I am more like you. By the time I start writing the idea or words down I have lost a lot and I can never keep up with the stream of words or thoughts and capture them as they come. I tend to rewrite quite a bit and play with what I capture to try and resemble the original idea but it never turns out the same way. In most cases, the result is always a pleasant surprise.

      Like

Leave a Reply

